Yesterday when I got home from work I walked around my trail on my property. A dead tree had fallen on my path. It had been dead for a while, and I had been thinking about cutting it down. Sandy beat me to it. It was free of branches by then, so dragging it off the path was just a matter of some heave-hoeing. This witches butter was nearly hit by the tree when it fell.

Witches butter

Witches butter


A bit farther down the path I found this fungus growing on a small stump. I think it might be turkey tail (Trametes versicolor).
Turkey tail (Trametes versicolor)

Turkey tail (Trametes versicolor)

That brings us to today. I went for a walk at lunch, and was sure to go by our new still-under-construction office building.

Our new office

Our new office


We will move in in August. It’s right across the street from where President Franklin Pierce died. I went looking for his house in September but couldn’t find it. I did some more reading and found that there is a marker in the front yard. What I did not know was that the house is no longer there (which is why I had a hard time finding it).
Pierce's Marker

Pierce’s Marker


Here are his front steps.
Pierce's Stairs

Pierce’s Stairs


Franklin Pierce was the 12th President of the United States. By some accounts, he was the worst Chief Executive in US history, and many lay at his feet the blame for the Civil War. I don’t know how accurate that is. At any rate, his house is on the National Registry of Historic Places. Except – as you can see from this photo – it no longer exists.