Today I went down to Sandogardy Pond for a short time. I usually walk there, but I didn’t have time for that today, so I drove (shame on me!). Beth wanted to swim, so she suited up, and Penny wanted to chase sticks, so she came along too. I headed to the creek where I saw the mystery plant yesterday. The helpful New Hampshire Gardener suggested that the mystery plant could be Marsh Skullcap (Scutellaria galericulata). I think he got the genus right, but I’m unsure on the species (the leaf has a fairly long petiole and S galericulata is sessile.

When I got there, the blossoms were gone, but the plant was still there. I pulled one up and took this photo.

Scutellaria?

Scutellaria?


The problem is that it doesn’t seem to perfectly match any of the Scutellaria in my books either. I will keep looking.

Before I even got to the mystery plant for a re-examination, I spotted some floating heart in bloom!

Floating heart (Nymphoides cordata)

Floating heart (Nymphoides cordata)


Off came my shoes and socks, and up went my pant legs. I waded out and took several shots.
Floating heart (Nymphoides cordata)

Floating heart (Nymphoides cordata)


Then I saw some wet blossoms, and their petals were becoming translucent.
Floating heart (Nymphoides cordata) partially immersed

Floating heart (Nymphoides cordata) partially immersed


Floating heart (Nymphoides cordata) after full immersion

Floating heart (Nymphoides cordata) after full immersion


I didn’t notice it had visitors until I got home.

Nice.