Today we had our Investiture service for Pathfinders and Adventurers. This is a ceremony during which we award insignia to everyone. The highlight is always the slideshow that Melissa puts together for us. It was 22 minutes long, and she had set it to music. She was up until 7:00am working on it. After 22 minutes of watching that, my mouth was sore from the ear-to-ear grin I maintained throughout. I couldn’t help it.

We got home a little after 4:00pm and had some supper. It had been raining all day, as it was when I finished eating, and as it is even now at nearly midnight. But I have rain gear.

Penny was thrilled at the prospect of a walk in the rain, and I figured she was the only one in the house who was crazy enough about walking to take me up on the offer of a hike. We went down to Sandogardy Pond.

I cut through the cut-down forest. This is one of the nicer places there now. The trail has reappeared, and it’s growing a nice carpet of grass.

Penny waits for me to throw a stick

Penny waits for me to throw a stick

We made it to the pond without incident. The water (including the puddles along the way) were thick with yellow pollen. I don’t know what plant makes this stuff, but it sure makes a lot.

Sandogardy Beach

Sandogardy Beach

I don’t know what this is growing at the edge of the pond. I might recognize it in a few weeks, but right now I just don’t know. But look at all that pollen!

Mystery plants

Mystery plants

But this is one I do know:

Virginia marsh St. Johnswort (Triadenum virginicum)

Virginia marsh St. Johnswort (Triadenum virginicum)


I think this may be the only St Johnswort with pink flowers. Not that it has bloomed yet. We’ll check in again after it does.

It continued to pour the whole time I was out there.

Alder in the rain

Alder in the rain


This is some sort of alder bush. It grows all along the edge of the pond. One of these days I will id it down to the species level, but not during a rainstorm.

Penny didn’t go into the pond during this hike. Maybe she didn’t want to get wet😉 or maybe she wasn’t overheated since the rain did a thorough job on her coat. She would also not have been thirsty since the sticks she was fetching were also quite wet.

I do enjoy walking in a rain like this, even when it’s heavy like it was today. It’s an iron-clad guarantee of having the outdoors to myself.