Today at about 10:00am, Jonathan came into my office and told me he had just found out that he had been selected as Senior of the Year for his department at NHTI. He also told me that the award ceremony was at noon, and there he was in a tee shirt and jeans. I had him call Va to ask her to bring him something decent.

She scrambled and got to Concord just in time. The ceremony was about two hours long, and we were also surprised that a member of our church was there for a different award. She is the parent of one of my Pathfinders, and I had no idea she was attending classes there. She told me afterwards that she had no idea she was getting an award. They told her to be in the auditorium at noon for a meeting. I took her picture and will send it to her tomorrow (when I get to the office where we have a faster Internet connection).

I took one of Jonathan too:

Jonathan on the right, not wearing a tee shirt

Jonathan on the right, not wearing a tee shirt


Some award recipients actually wore pajama bottoms to the ceremony. Jonathan said he felt over dressed, but I think that his attire was perfectly appropriate, and he was not the only one wearing decent clothes.

David came to the ceremony with us, and said later that as a result, he was suffering from Post Traumatic Boredom Disorder. Ahh… brotherly love.

Yesterday I stole a few minutes while I was exercising Penny and we went down the road a couple hundred yards where I gathered a bag full of Japanese knotweed shoots. I brought the camera with me, but didn’t take any photos – not even any bad ones! So I had to take one while I was cooking them.

Japanese knotweed (Fallopia japonica)

Japanese knotweed (Fallopia japonica)


These are delicious. They are very tangy, and have been described by others as similar to rhubarb, but since I have never knowingly eaten rhubarb, I can’t vouch for the similarity. But I can indeed say they are tangy. As usual, no one else in my family was even remotely interested in trying them, so I ate them all in two sittings (but in one evening – I had to come back for more).

Japanese knotweed is a highly invasive non-native plant, so if you have it in your area, you’ll be doing the ecology a favor by eating some for yourself. It is illegal to cultivate it in NH (and probably in many other localities) but there is no rule against harvesting it from the wild. The problem with this weed is that it takes over an area and crowds out native flora. It is nearly impossible to eradicate too. If enough people ate it though, I would imagine we could make a good sized dent in it. So bon appetite!