A while back I saw that I could subscribe to Northfield’s weekly newsletter. So I did! There are all kinds of things going on in my town that I didn’t know about. One of those things is Chess Night at the Pines Community Center. They have that on Thursdays. They also have chess gatherings at the library on Mondays, but that starts kind of early.

Anyhow, it didn’t take much arm twisting to talk David into going. Chess is his passion. We were both afraid that it would be a dud though. The last time we tried that, we found an ad for a chess gathering at a bookstore in Concord. We arrived at the appointed time only to find that no one at the bookstore had any idea about a chess gathering at all. And we didn’t see anyone with chess boards.

When we arrived tonight, there were three guys in the community center with chess boards out. So yay!
David playing chess

I did not play. I know the rules of chess, but I don’t know how to play chess. I play like a six year-old. It would not have been fun for me or for anyone unlucky enough to play me.

Other than us, there were four guys there, the youngest being about my age. They were a friendly lot, and to David’s delight, were pretty good chess players. David played three games. The first was against their number three player, and he won that one. Then he beat their number two. Then he beat another guy who was not as strong as the first two. Time ran out before he could play number one. They were all pretty happy he was there, and “number one” got up several times during his own games to see what David was doing.

My guess is that David will want to go to the library Monday – all he has to do is talk Va into taking him there (or riding a bike – but that’s a long ride, and there are a lot of hills).

This morning, I took Va’s car in for an oil change, which meant I had a pleasant walk from the garage to the office. I was on the lookout for crocuses and daffodils. Instead, I found this:

Groundsel (Senecio vulgaris)

Groundsel (Senecio vulgaris)


It is the first blossom of the spring for me. It’s normally considered a weed, but I think it’s pretty cool. I like wildflowers better than cultivated ones for reasons I don’t quite understand myself. These flowers never open any more than shown here. I was fully expecting to see a crocus before I saw any other bloom. Go wildflowers!

So. Spring is here.

