Here are some photos I took while out for a walk on Sunday.

New England Aster

New England Aster


I believe this is a New England Aster, but all I know for sure is that it is a purple aster growing in New England. There are hundreds of species of asters, and sometimes you need a microscope to distinguish them.

Fungus with concentric growth rings

Fungus with concentric growth rings


I have identified this fungus in the past, but don’t remember what it was. I am just too lazy to look it up again.

Bur Marigold (Bidens cernua)

Bur Marigold (Bidens cernua)


This is a Bur Marigold. It blooms late in the year, and I don’t think I saw any of these until September. The seeds of this plant take the form of an achene with very sharp barbs that hook into pant cuffs and dog ruffs with no effort whatsoever. Effort is reserved for their extraction from said cuffs and ruffs.

Hawkweed (Hieracium spp)

Hawkweed (Hieracium spp)


This little hawkweed was brilliant. I don’t recall the exact species, and I have not sufficiently overcome inertia to look it up.

Yet Another Aster

Yet Another Aster


Again, asters are difficult to distinguish.
Yet Another New England Aster. Maybe.

Yet Another New England Aster. Maybe.


Purple. Aster. New England.

Daisy fleabane (Erigeron annuus)

Daisy fleabane (Erigeron annuus)


I may have misspelled the species name. I could look it up, but… you know. Then I’d feel obligated to look up the others.

White Campion (Silene spp)

White Campion (Silene spp)


Campion seems like it’s one ‘H’ sh ort of greatness. This is one of the few plants in bloom that is not a composite (such as daisies, goldenrod, sunflowers, and asters – all composites). We do still have blooming red clover, but I seldom photograph that.

The house is quiet tonight, as Beth is up in Maine with her school for Outdoor School. This evening, Penny and I walked down to Sandogardy (where many of the photos posted today were taken last Sunday). It was dark when we got home, so I didn’t get many photos. I haven’t even looked at them yet.

We had our first Pathfinder meeting of the year Sunday morning. That went pretty well. I have three new staff members this year. One is the parent of a new Pathfinder, and I am really looking forward to working with him. He travels a lot though, so he and my son David (my second new staff member) are double-teaming counseling duties for the Ranger class. This is David’s ninth year of Pathfinders, so I’m sure he will do just fine as a counselor.

The third new counselor is a 20 year old girl who I let in the club last year as a Pathfinder instead of as a staff member. She is a refuge from Burundi and still in high school. Her English is much better than my Kirundi, which is to say, I can’t always understand her. She is counseling three girls who are also from Africa (two from Burundi, and one from what is now South Sudan). They do not have any trouble at all communicating with her though, so I felt that I could use her effectively as a counselor this year. She really wanted to join again this year, and I allowed her if she agreed to be a staff member.

