Yesterday we had a special summer session for our Pathfinder Club so we could finish off the Fire Safety and Fire Fighting honors our club has been piloting for… 18 months. More on that in another post.

While we were waiting for Paul to show up (he has been our instructor), I went to the trailer to straighten up some of the mess we managed to make when we put things away in the dark last Thursday. As I approached the trailer, a little sparrow chirped loudly as it hopped through the grass in front of me.

But I was on a mission. I noted the bird and moved on. However, Joy was not on a mission. She noted the bird and gently followed. She managed to actually catch it!

Joy holding a sparrow

Joy holding a sparrow

I was pretty surprised to say the least. I have never caught a bird. I guess this one had not yet learned to fly. I quickly abandoned my mission and went into photographer mode. Beth saw what we were doing and she came to see. Joy let her pet “her” bird:

Beth petting Joy's catch

Beth petting Joy's catch


I allowed the other kids to approach one at a time. Eventually, the bird hopped up Joy’s arm and onto her shoulder. Then she hopped up on top of her head. She deposited “sign” on her sleeve in two different places, but I think Joy thought it was worth it. She returned the fledgling to the woods where she captured it after a little while, and we began working on the honors a little while after that.