The other day I was at a convenience store when I saw some sparklers on the counter at the checkout. Their strategy worked, because I bought a pack (I had neglected to get any for the 4th of July). This was supposed to make up for that, and it did.

But sparklers are even more fun when you add long exposure photography to the equation. Here’s what we got:

DAVID got the first good one

DAVID got the first good one


Beth painted a skirt

Beth painted a skirt


Beth painted this skirt, and I stole her idea. But I don’t wear skirts:
Shirt & Pants

Shirt & Pants


I made a shirt and a pair of pants.
Stick girl!

Stick girl!


Beth got the hang of it when she made this stick girl. Penny didn’t like any of this, and as soon as Va let her in the house, she made a bee line upstairs (where she is not allowed to go) and wedged herself under Jonathan’s bed.

We quit before we had lit them all, and we did it again tonight. But four shots ought to be enough. We might do it again tomorrow (as we still have a lot left).