They go all out for the employee of the month at this random McDonald’s. Employee of the Month

Somewhere along the way we stopped and I spotted this unknown specimen.

Unknown species

Unknown species


The bloom was about a quarter inch across. I did not bring any of my field guides along, but I guess I could turn to the Internets for an ID. Maybe later, or maybe when I get home again.

We crossed into TN and stopped at their welcome center. They had a geocache hidden there, which I nabbed. I had also found caches in MD and WV, so I added three states to my caching tally yesterday (as did Beth). She was sure she already had a cache in all three states, but I assured her she did not.

At the rest area in Tennessee, Beth liked the giant guitar across the interstate. So I captured it as the background for this image:
Beth with a giant guitar

We stopped for the night about 40 miles before Knoxville. We will make our way across I-40, stopping at an outlet mall along the way. I expect we’ll be in Dawson Springs, KY this evening sometime.