Here are some pictures of some mushrooms and flowers (‘shrooms and blooms) I took over the past couple of days:

Dewberry (Rubus sect Eubatus)

Dewberry (Rubus sect Eubatus)


Dewberries are in the same genus as blackberries and raspberries, and there are several species in all three of those categories. This particular blossom is odd in that it has six petals instead of the more typical five.
Net-winged beetle (Calopteran spp)

Net-winged beetle (Calopteran spp)


This guy had a buddy on the next leaf over. Just hanging out, I guess.
Unidentified Mushroom

Unidentified Mushroom


I’m not sure what kind of mushroom this is, but I liked its color.
And another

And another


I don’t know what this one is either. These two are taken from the same perspective so that I could steady the camera on the ground. I really need to tap that tripod mounting hole.

Pickerelweed (Pontederia cordata)

Pickerelweed (Pontederia cordata)


A little while ago the swamp candles had bloomed, leading me to predict that the pickerelweed would bloom shortly. And here it is! Beth and I went to Sandogardy Pond this evening and that’s when I took this shot. There was a huge turtle swimming in the pond too, but it did not surface when it was near us, so I couldn’t get a decent shot. Too bad!

