Today Beth and I went to Sandogardy again to do some more swimming. As soon as we arrived, I began looking along the side of the road leading down to the swimming area for some Deptford Pinks (Dianthus deltoides). They grew there in previous years, and I hadn’t seen any this year yet. I was beginning to think I’d have to check into one of the other places I’ve seen them grow. But no need! I struck gold.

Deptford Pink (Dianthus deltoides)

Deptford Pink (Dianthus deltoides)


This is one of the two shots that came out pretty well out of fifteen attempts. It normally does not take me 15 shots to get a good one, but here’s why it did today:


It just wouldn’t hold still!

While Beth played in the water, I waded out into the weeds. I wore a swimsuit today – too bad for everyone else who was at the beach. It didn’t take long before I saw some huge snails in the water – huge snails having a romantic interlude!
Two snails, coupled up

Snails from another angle

Snails from another angle

And one more:

From the side

From the side


I don’t have any field guides covering gastropods, so I have made no attempt to id these. I guess I could turn to Google, or maybe the NH DES has another online publication. They have them for amphibians and reptiles, so why not snails & shells?

I put the two lovers back in the water, and soon after that, Beth was calling for me. I had been telling her that in order for her to learn to swim, she had to be able to hold her head under water for ten seconds. We spent a lot of time yesterday with me timing her. “How long?” she’d ask. “Three and a half seconds,” I’d answer. But today, she had come up with a new technique to help her stay under longer. She began kicking her legs while holding herself up with her arms as if to do a push-up. She made ten seconds.

I told her she was practically swimming already and told her how to move her arms. In no time, she was swimming a good 15 feet, which is huge to me. She was very pleased too!