Cinquefoil (Potentilla, spp)

Cinquefoil (Potentilla, spp)


The Cinquefoil (Potentilla, spp) has been blooming for a while, but I don’t think I’ve posted it yet. I haven’t taken the time to drill down to the species level for an id on this one either. There are several members of the Potentilla genus growing around here. Last year I had them sorted out, but that knowledge didn’t survive the winter! Now I’ll have to figure it out all over again.

Speedwell (Veronica spp)

Speedwell (Veronica spp)


This is another that I went actively looking for today. I almost missed it too, because these flowers are only about an eighth of an inch across. I only saw two specimens, but they were growing where I remember seeing them last year. I don’t know why anyone would call it “speedwell” when its Latin name is so nice – Veronica. It is purported to have medicinal qualities, so I guess that’s where the common name comes from. This is another plant that I was too lazy to id down to the species level today. There are only a couple species of Veronica on my property, so it wouldn’t be that hard to do.

Green blueberries

Green blueberries


Here are some unripe blueberries growing at the edge of my yard. Some plants are still sporting flowers, but these have progressed well beyond that now. I might be able to get a quart of berries this summer, but we’ll see. Not bad for wild berries.

Groundnut (Apios americana)

Groundnut (Apios americana)


This is one I was not expecting to see again, at least not here. I discovered this groundnut (Apios americana) a couple of years ago, and then accidentally hit it with the mower last summer when I was taking out the brambles around the swing set. It didn’t come back from that until now. It has an edible root (thus the name groundnut) that I’ve been wanting to try, but since I’ve only got one or two plants growing here, I’m not about to uproot it. Hopefully it can establish itself to the point of nibble-ability. Might take a couple more years, but I can be patient. All I have to do is not mow it down.