Late last week I got an email from my friend Mark O’Ffill. He is the web master for pathfindersonline.org. For the past several years I have helped him run the forum on that site, but back in October it went dark. I won’t go into why, but I am glad to say that on Friday I got an email from Mark asking me to help him bring it back to life.

He sent me a gigantic tarball (that’s a computer archive if you don’t know) containing almost a hundred files, each representing a database table. Using all the PHP and MySQL foo I could muster, it took me pretty much every evening since then to get it turned back into something that looks like a forum. So the forum is back online again,with all the historic posts and user data intact. I am pleased to have been a part of making that happen.

Hoorays!

