This morning I picked up the wreckage of the gutters that ice tore from the back of my house on Friday.

Ice & railing chunks

Ice & railing chunks


That piece of wood came from the rail of my deck:
Rail Damage

Rail Damage


A forty pound slab also landed on top of my lawnmower.
Ice vs Mower

Ice vs Mower


I don’t think it damaged it, but it’s kinda hard to tell without digging it out of the snow. I have no intention of doing that. I usually park the mower under the deck, thinking that might protect it from the snow. I wasn’t thinking about ice falling off the roof. I had the boys cut the grass most of the time this summer, and they parked where it is now. Under the deck would have been better. I wouldn’t have been able to say why before now though.

Not that it matters too much. This is a “disposable” mower from Walmart. If I have to get a new one, it will probably be a Snapper, as I am of the opinion that those are built to last thirty years. “Yard Man” mowers are built to last one year, and I’ve had this one for five. Snapper does not sell to Walmart, because they thought the price pressures Walmart would apply would destroy the quality of their mowers, and I have a lot of respect for them because of that. So secretly (until now!) I want to get a Snapper just because of the stand they took.

Here’s a shot that clearly shows which part of my roof is insulated.

Insulation on the left

Insulation on the left


I think if I had finished this project before now, I wouldn’t be wondering if my Yard Man was crushed by ice or not. I had no icicles on the north end of the house either, so I’m pretty sure that the extra insulation will prevent that in the future (assuming I can make time to finish the job).

I had not taken the eave heaters off the back of the house yet, and that’s what those two cables hanging down the house are. I was going to take them down today, but they are pretty well frozen to the roof still, so I will wait for warmer weather for that.

I did drag the ladder around to the front of the house. I climbed up and attacked a chunk of ice up there with a mason’s hammer. I knocked some of it down, but it was an awful lot of hacking for not much ice removal. Most of that ice chunk is still up there.