We finally got a good snowstorm. We had six inches on the ground when I rolled out of bed, with the promise of more to come through 7:00pm. True to the forecaster’s word, it’s still coming down at a pretty decent clip. We’ve got well over a foot on the ground now. I didn’t go to the office, but instead worked from home. I’ll still hafta take a half day of vacation for it though, because in the afternoon I succumbed to the temptation to go sledding with Beth and David. We went to the city’s sand pit about a mile from the house.

I wore my snowshoes. The snow was a fluffy as ever I have seen it, and even with snowshoes, I was sinking into it at least a foot. Breaking trail through that kind of snow is pretty hard work!

When we got to the sandpit, Beth and David sledded down the tremendously steep (but mercifully short) slopes. I’m pretty sure the snow depth here was about two feet. Here are a few shots.

Penny slogging through the snow up the side of the sand pit.

Penny slogging through the snow up the side of the sand pit.


Beth pulling her sled up behind her

Beth pulling her sled up behind her


David demonstrates how hard it was to remain standing on the steep slope

David demonstrates how hard it was to remain standing on the steep slope


Here’s a shot from the north rim facing west.
Northfield Sand Pit Buried in Snow

Northfield Sand Pit Buried in Snow

I had David take this shot of me pulling Beth in her sled while I snowshoed down the trail.

Snowshoes in Action

Snowshoes in Action

Shortly after this shot was taken, one of the bindings I made for these gave up the ghost. I was planning to redo them anyhow, because I was afraid that exactly this would happen. One of the rivets pulled through the leather and let go of the buckle. That had already happened to a couple of non-crucial rivets, so it was really only a matter of time before it hit an important one. I slung the shoes over my back and hoofed it in just my boots the rest of the way home. Luckily, I was only 30 feet shy of a plowed road when that happened, so it was no big deal. I did have some rope with me just in case I needed to effect a repair on the trail, but with a plowed road, it really was not necessary.

Once I had the snowshoes slung over my shoulder, Penny kept expecting me to throw them so she could fetch them. Talk about a one-track mind!

In a little bit, I will go back out and snowblow the driveway again. I did that this morning, but it’s eight inches deep again, and the snow is still falling. I’m going to wait until closer to 7:00 to start though, as that’s when it should taper off a bit more. Do you know what stalls my snowblower’s engine? Basketballs. Basketballs do. Penny left hers in the driveway, and the snow had covered it completely. Can’t quite get one of those through the chute. No damage was done, except perhaps to the basketball. Penny does a pretty good job of deflating those by herself though. I expect I’ll be able to pump it up again and it will be almost as good as it was yesterday (which is not to say very good).

We’ve got four foot drifts against the house.🙂 This is how winter is supposed to be!