Last night I finished making a new set of bindings for the old, traditional, wooden pair of snowshoes I bought from a guy on Craigslist. It was dark by the time I got them fastened on, but I was anxious to get them on my feet and try them out. So that’s exactly what I did.

Since it was dark, I saw no reason to bring the camera. I walked the trail I had built a few years ago around the backside of our property. The snowshoes (including the bindings) worked very well.

Near the back boundary, I cam across some tracks. I’m not sure what they were, but I’m thinking they were left by a flying squirrel. They were the same size as chipmunk tracks (and about the same pattern), but they went from tree to tree. I don’t think chipmunks are still out at this time of the year, and being ground squirrels, they do not typically climb trees. I went out again this morning to find them so I could take a picture, but the wind has taken them away.