Snow cover, 12-24-2010

Snow cover, 12-24-2010


Looks like a brown Christmas for us. 😦 We’re right smack in the middle of the grey patch in this NOAA map (central NH).

I bought two pair of snowshoes yesterday from a guy on Craigslist. They are both pretty old, but seem to be in pretty decent shape – mostly. One pair is smallish, and I think it will fit Beth perfectly. The other pair is large, and that’s for me. Unfortunately, the leather bindings are not currently serviceable. I bought a package of leather remnants for that at Michael’s today (we were out finishing our Christmas shopping – yes, at the last minute). The rawhide on the deck is in great shape, but the leather bindings are pretty much rotted. I tugged on one of the straps, and it broke in two. But the buckles are in good shape, and the rotted leather will serve well as a pattern.

I had wanted to make a set of snowshoes, but I’m having a hard time finding white ash. Rebuilding the bindings will partially satisfy my desire to do that. And I may yet build a pair, because it would be nice to have a third person along with us. Now that I have two pair to look at, touch, and handle, making a pair should be a little easier anyhow.