I went for a walk today during lunch. My main goal was to check out the Jerusalem artichoke (Helianthus tuberosus) patch and maybe collect some seeds. But before I got there, I came across some Virginia pepperweed (Lepidium viginicum). I didn’t nibble on any of it today, but on most other days I certainly would have.

Lepidium virginicum

Lepidium virginicum


I was a bit surprised to find any still bearing seeds (most have dropped from the plants by now), much less still in flower. Cool.

The pepperweed was probably less than a hundred feet from the Jerusalem artichoke. When I got to the JA patch, I did manage to find some dried flower heads. I plucked off almost half a dozen, and then photographed this one still hanging on:

Helianthus tuberosus

Helianthus tuberosus


I plan to plant some of the seeds on the south end of the flower bed along the front of the house this spring. It will only get morning sun there, but maybe that will be good enough. We have a domestic Helianthus cultivar (some showy sunflowers) growing in that vicinity, so perhaps the sunlight will be sufficient. I hope so!