The sun came out today. David, Beth, and I took Penny down to Sandogardy Pond. I had noticed on Thursday that the foliage was quite brilliant, and hoped that it would still be today – but I was disappointed. The high winds we had Friday took their toll. Most of the trees were bare.

The only thing I saw that was still in bloom were some asters. I took several photos and deleted almost all of them. The sky was overcast and low in the sky, plus there was still a fairly brisk wind blowing. Low light plus moving plants equals poor photos.

Eventually, I came across a small clump of asters growing low near the edge of the pond.

Asters at Sandogardy's Edge

Asters at Sandogardy's Edge


The water in the pond was up too, so normally, these asters would not have been in the water. There was a lonely bee working the blossom. She was a bit lethargic, but I suppose that was because of the low temperature (it was in the upper 40’s). I tried to move in closer to her to get a better shot, and she took off, did a loop, and landed splash in the water! She swam about for a bit, but it was clear to me she wasn’t going to make it. So I reached in and offered my fingers as a life raft. She climbed aboard without hesitation.
Rescued!

Rescued!


I looked at her a bit as she crawled around. I was pretty sure she would not sting, and I was correct about that. I moved my fingers back to the flower, and she made a “bee line” for it (sorry, I couldn’t resist).
Back in Business

Back in Business

I had also noted that there was plenty of goose scat all over the beach, especially near the dock where these aster grew. After I rescued the bee, Beth pointed out the geese on the water. We were pretty far away though, so it was hard to tell if they were geese or ducks. David had forgotten his glasses so he couldn’t tell either. I zoomed in with the camera and took a couple of spectacularly bad shots. They were good enough to id the birds as Canada geese, but not good enough to post here! I also photographed a sample of the scat, and it turned out pretty good – but I’ll spare you!