I guess I would have been a terrible meteorologist. It was raining this morning, but I didn’t bring my rain coat. I was planning to make a bank deposit and get a haircut, but neither of those was so pressing as to get me out in the weather without proper gear.

I glanced out the window again in the afternoon – no rain. So I strolled down to the bank, made my deposit, and then stopped at the barber’s. About the time I got in the chair, there was a very loud thunder boom. Thirty seconds later, the hail came. It was pouring outside. It only last a couple of minutes, but I’d guess we got at least an inch of rain during that time. We also got a half inch (in places) of hail.

Hail piled up on the curb

Hail piled up on the curb


Hail on the Chief

Hail on the Chief


It all blew over by the time I was ready to leave.