Beth trying out the trail

Beth trying out the trail


Today after work I cut a new trail across the woods in the front of the house. It’s only about 150 feet long and runs north-south. Or south-north, depending! It’s about 30 feet from the road, so that puts it right there at the front of the property.

I’ve been wanting to do this for quite some time, and mentioned it to Beth as a possibility. She asked me if I could work on it tonight, and I figured that I most certainly could. I didn’t think I was going to actually finish it tonight, but that’s exactly what happened.

I cut all the brush with a set of pruning shears, except for two trees that were a little bit too big for those to handle (they were both under two inches in diameter though). I used a bow saw on them. I also lopped off all the overhanging branches. It took maybe an hour.

The new trail starts at the frog pond and ends at the driveway. I don’t think anyone could tell it was there from the road. It’s about six feet wide, so that should be plenty of space for a speeding bicycle.

With the addition of this trail, Beth can now ride her bike in a circuit all the way around our property. I was a bit too tired to join her in that tonight (having just cut a trail and all), but maybe tomorrow we can give it a go.