Acorns from a pin oak (Quercus palustris)

Acorns from a pin oak (Quercus palustris)


Today when we got home from work I had Jonathan drop me off at the end of the driveway so I could haul the empty trash can to the garage. As I was hauling, I looked down and noticed several striped acorns. I do not recall having ever seen striped acorns before, so I bent down and picked up a handful for closer study.

This evening I did some searching and found that there aren’t many types of oak that produce striped acorns. These are most likely from a pin oak (Quercus palustris).

Before I looked up striped acorns though, I had some work to do. Today was sunny and warm, and I had four tents in the backyard. I set them up in the rain yesterday, and I was hoping they would be dry by now. We’re supposed to have a tropical weather system moving through here tonight, and it may dump up to three inches of rain on us. There are flood warnings.

The biggest tent (an 8-person) was pretty much dry. There was a wet patch on the underside, so I dried that by hand with some paper towels. Then I rolled it up and put it in the trunk of my car. Tomorrow I will put it back in the trailer.

The 4-person tent was still soaking wet, so I just let it stand where it is. It will get rained on tonight and then get even wetter.

The two 3-person tents were almost dry, and since they are so small, I decided to move them into the garage. I removed their rain flies and hung them from the rafters. Then I moved the rest of them into the garage and suspended them so air could circulate underneath.

This will preclude me from parking in the garage during the ensuing monsoon. Hopefully they will be dry before the weekend is over.

