Today after lunch I took a short hike to L.L. Bean (they were having a sale). On the way, I came across a plant with which I am unfamiliar.

Brown knapweed (Centaurea jacea)

Brown knapweed (Centaurea jacea)


As it turns out, this is Brown Knapweed (Centaurea jacea), and it is not native to North America. It was borrowed from Europe, and according to what I read about it, it is a highly aggressive invasive species. Maybe I should go pull it up tomorrow.

A few hundred feet later I came across something I have been looking for in New Hampshire for six years:

Wild Chicory (Cichorium intybus)

Wild Chicory (Cichorium intybus)


This is a plant I know well. It grew everywhere in Virginia, but until today, I had never seen it growing here in NH. I’ve seen it in Massachusetts, Upstate New York, and even in Vermont. But not here. What I found frustrating about that is that according to the USDA, it should be growing here. And now I know that it really is. I was beginning to have doubts!