Tonight we began working on the Pioneering Honor. This is one that can’t be knocked out in one night. It really can’t be done in one day either. There are a lot of requirements that take quite a bit of effort to meet.

We are going to meet the “big” requirement by building a raft and taking it down the Merrimack River. We (mostly) built the raft tonight, except that I didn’t buy enough rope. Oops. The trip down the river is Sunday.

Now I know how many people will be joining us on the river: 17. I have four canoes and three kayaks, so I think that should be plenty. I need to scare up half a dozen more life jackets too.

I woke up sometime before 4:00 this morning with raft trip logistics circulating unmercifully in my brain. I couldn’t get back to sleep. I was trying to figure out how I was going to get three of those canoes and two of those kayaks to the river. I finally got out of bed at 5:00 and read the Internets until 6:00. Then I went back to bed and got some much needed sleep. The alarm went off at 6:30, and I ignored it until 7:20. Then I dragged myself out of bed, straggled to the shower, got dressed, and let Jonathan drive us to the office. I tried to nap in the car, but was not very successful at that.

Then I figured out the logistics. We will put in and take out on the east side of the Merrimack instead of the west. That way, the put-in is less than 10 minutes from my house. I can shuttle the canoes in two trips without much effort. Problem solved.

We will finish assembling the raft at the put-in. I’m guessing that will take another hour. We’re going for an “open deck”. The kids will sit on the cross logs and dangle their feet in the water as they paddle it along. I told them all to wear swim suits and expect to get wet. That way it won’t matter too much if the raft has only a half inch of freeboard (or less!)