Today as I was wandering about the yard I scared up a Pickerel Frog (Rana palustris).

Pickerel Frog (Rana palustris)

Pickerel Frog (Rana palustris)


Even though Fish & Game says that these frogs are widespread, this is only the second third one I’ve ever seen. Frogs are actually a lot less common this year than they have been in the past few. We’ve had less rain than usual, so I suppose it must be a factor. I’m sure that’s why my bulfrog/green frog population in the catchment pond is so low.

The name Rana palustris means “frog: swampy.” Maybe if I spent more time in swamps I’d see them more often than once every three years.

This particular specimen did not want to hold still long enough for me to get a good shot. I’m glad I took this one even though the photo was sure to be sub-optimal (frog is obscured by the grass, etc), but I did it because I thought it might be my only shot – and it was. Shortly after this one, it disappeared into the grass (which desperately needs a good mowing) and I was unable to find him again.