The city came and scooped out our catchment pond again. They did a MUCH better job this time than last time around. Thanks to the cob-job they did last year, it has been nearly empty all this year, and that means… no frogs.

Well, I did see two frogs in there today, but that’s most likely because we got some rain last night and the pond had refilled. But they have thus far been unable to hatch a clutch of eggs, so the numbers are way down.

On my way to the pond today, I saw this garter snake perched atop some honeysuckle.

Garter Snake

Garter Snake


I usually have a hard time photographing snakes. It’s hard to get close to them, but this one just sat there and let me move the camera to within six inches or so. It tasted my air and decided I wasn’t too alarming. I guess.

Nearby I found another columbine blossom. These had already finished this year, so i was astounded to find another bloom. In fact, that same plant has ripe seed pods on it.

Columbine (Aquilegia canadensis)

Columbine (Aquilegia canadensis)


It’s about half the length of the first round of blooms, but I’ll take what I can get!

When I left the house this morning I noticed a half dozen different species of insect perched on my front door. I took pictures of them all, but this one was the most bizarre:
"Bizarrodoptera'
I have not yet tried to identify it. Check out those legs!

In other news… My puzzle geocache went live today. Within one hour, someone had solved it (but did not go out and find it yet). Within two hours another person did the same thing. They both had kind things to say about my puzzle.🙂 Within four hours two more people solved it and found it. Looks like it might have landed on the easy side of the spectrum, but everyone seems to be having fun solving it anyhow. I can be happy with a fun puzzle.