“Well. I’m back.” Those are the last words in The Lord of the Rings, and they seem appropriate to put here. We’re back from our book-buying adventure in Mt Crawford, VA.

While we were there, Beth and I found a geocache within 300 yards of the book fair. It had a travel bug in it that we grabbed and will replant up here somewhere.

On the way home we stopped in Hershey, PA and went to see Chocolate World. Beth and Va went on a tour where they made their own chocolate candy. I hung around while they did that, as it wasn’t cheap, and I wasn’t that interested any how.

After that we got a hotel nearby with a simply awful Internet connection. I couldn’t even load my blog, and instead was served with an erroneous “404 not found” error. Facebook did the same thing to Va. It was pretty terrible, and that’s my excuse for not posting yesterday.

We left early enough, and stopped at a Krispy Kreme in Scranton, PA. There was a geocache nearby that I wanted to look for. I solved the puzzle giving the coordinates, but when we arrived at Ground Zero, we could not find the cache after 15 minutes of searching. Oh well.

When we drove through NY last week, the roadsides were covered with some plant I did not recognize. Since then I found that it is Wild Parsnip (Pastinaca sativa). I wanted to stop and get a photo, and I got my chance today. Having an empty tank, a full bladder, and seeing a few Wild Parsnips on the side of the road, I decided to make a pit stop.

Wild Parsnip (Pastinaca sativa)

Wild Parsnip (Pastinaca sativa)


I only took three photos, and none of them turned out all that great. Oh well. I haven’t seen any of this in NH, but it is most likely here somewhere. If ever I see it in a convenient place, I’ll try to take a better picture.