On July 1 (Canada Day) we were in St Catharines, ON, which is the birthplace of Neal Peart, the drummer for Rush. I have been a Rush fan for over 30 years, so when we were looking for a hotel near Niagara and saw St Catharine’s on the map, I said, “Let’s go there.” So we did. After we got settled into our room I fired up my laptop and checked to see if there were any nearby geocaches. And there were! There was a puzzle cache at Lakeside Park.

Neal wrote a song called Lakeside Park about this place, and they recorded it on their third album back in 1975. This is the park he was writing about. I did not manage to solve the puzzle related to the cache, but that’s OK – it was enough to be there and think about the song.

One of the best features of the park is an antique carousel which is still in operation. The carousel was donated to the city with the understanding that rides would cost only a nickel in perpetuity, and so… they still do. Anyhow, here’s the song, and our photo montage to go along with it.


Midway hawkers crying try your luck with me

Midway hawkers crying try your luck with me


Merry-go-round wheezing same old melody

Merry-go-round wheezing same old melody


 A thousand ten-cent wonders Who could ask for more A pocket full of silver The key to heaven's door

A thousand ten-cent wonders Who could ask for more A pocket full of silver The key to heaven's door


Lakeside Park

Lakeside Park


Willows in the breeze

Willows in the breeze


Lakeside Park, so many memories

Lakeside Park, so many memories


Laughing rides, midway lights

Laughing rides, midway lights


Shining stars on summer nights
Days of barefoot freedom Racing with the waves

Days of barefoot freedom Racing with the waves


Nights of starlit secrets
Crackling driftwood flames
Drinking by the lighthouse

Drinking by the lighthouse

Smoking on the pier

Smoking on the pier


But still we saw the magic
Was fading every year

Everyone would gather
On the 24th of May

Sitting in the sand to watch the fiireworks display

Sitting in the sand to watch the fiireworks display

Dancing fires on the beach
Singing Songs together
And though it’s just a memory
Some memories last forever

OK, so I didn’t get a photo of every line in the song. We were there only in the morning and had to leave so we could get home before… dawn I guess. Also, Niagara Falls was still on the itenerary.

Still, I had a great time. I think the carnival was there only because it was Canada Day. Also, the pier was blocked off with red saw horses (see photo) because they were setting up fireworks out at the end of it. So if we had had time, we could have sat in the sand to watch a fireworks display, just like in the song. I’d love to go back sometime. I think I’ve solved the puzzle to the geocache now too, and I’d like to take a crack at finding it.