Today I took a stroll to the bank and came across some American nightshade (Solanum americanum

American Nightshade (Solanum americanum)

American Nightshade (Solanum americanum)


This is a poisonous plant related to the tomato & potato, and also to bittersweet (Solanum dulcamara) which is more common, and about as poisonous. Actually tomato and potato are also poisonous if you eat the wrong parts.

After work Jonathan and I went to the church to install the new wireless microphones. We had a system, but on June 12 it became illegal for us to use it anymore as the FCC has reallocated some spectrum. Jonathan very much likes the new mic. I left him to do the installation and testing, and went down to the playground to talk to a couple of guys from the church. I wasn’t expecting to see them there. They were evaluating the grass which has gone to seed, trying to decide if the seed was far enough along that it would germinate if it were scattered in some areas where the grass is weak. We talked for a little while, and then I saw some ants on the pavement. They had a sow bug:

Bringing home the bacon

Bringing home the bacon


The sow bug is probably Porcellio spinicornis, but I find ants too hard to classify, so I won’t even try.

When I got home I saw some Heal-all:

Self-heal/Heal-all/Prunella vulgaris

Self-heal/Heal-all/Prunella vulgaris


It’s also called Self-heal. I assume it has some supposed medicinal properties with a name like that. Then I saw a bee, or maybe a bee-fly on some cinquefoil:
A Different Kind of Bacon

A Different Kind of Bacon


I flipped through my Field Guides, but nothing popped out. I might post this to Bugguide later. I just like the pattern on her back.