Tonight Beth and I finished reading On the Banks of Plum Creek, which was written by Laura Ingalls Wilder of Little House on the Prairie fame. Even though she had also written a book called Little House on the Prairie, the TV show was based on Plum Creek. We bought the series on DVD a while back, and Beth has been lapping them up. I’ve only managed to watch one episode, and found that it was based on a chapter in the book. They took a few liberties, but it’s pretty close. If they still made shows like that, I might watch TV again.

Yesterday as I was walking the trail in my woods I happened across some dewdrops!

Dewdrop (Dalibarda repens)

Dewdrop (Dalibarda repens)


This is one of my favorite plants, and the only place I know where I can find it is right here in my woods. The leaves would lead one to believe it’s a violet, but it most certainly is not. This species is, I think, what taught me to photograph flowers. It grows in the shady woods, and it has white petals. I guess I took three dozen shots of it with my old camera in Auto mode, and not one of the photos turned out well. Then I found the macro button and read up on it. The camera was still over-exposing the white petals because the picture was mostly dark. So I figured out how to manually adjust the exposure time. But for that to be effective, I needed a tripod, so I got a tiny little one. By the next season, I had a new camera (my current one, a Canon S110IS), and it had a super macro lens that blew the other one away. I learned that maxing out the F-stop would improve the depth of field. I think my best photo ever depicted this plant, growing in basically the same place as the one above. I didn’t have a lot of time yesterday evening (supper was ready!) and there was a slight breeze, so the flower wouldn’t hold still. That’s pretty crucial when the exposure time is long. Anyhow, this is the rushed version of this year’s dewdrop.

Then today I went walking through my woods again, looking for dead trees to fell for Beth’s cabin. I didn’t fell any trees, but I did see this Indian Pipe.

Inidna Pipe (Monotropa uniflora)

Inidna Pipe (Monotropa uniflora)


Again, I didn’t have a lot of time to spend on photography. I took two shots, and this one came out kind of OKish.