Today we went to the Cheney’s house for a potluck lunch after church. I enjoyed tramping around on their property. I had forgotten my camera, but Va had hers, so I used it.

I like mine better, but I was really glad to have hers.

There were lots of these flies around:

A Fly

A Fly


Not too many to be a nuisance though, and I did enjoy trying to take their pictures. They usually wouldn’t hold still long enough for me to focus the camera, but this one did. I like the eyes! I posted this to Bugguide just before I started writing tonight, and before I finished, I had an id: Chrysops spp. (female), aka Deer Fly. Gotta love Bugguide! WIkipedia has some very unkind things to say about this particular genus.

Jonathan and David are spending the night there (as is another of their friends). When we went to the beach last week, David got his shoes wet in the ocean, and has been unable to wash the smell out of them. Since he was horrified about the thought of wearing them to someone’s, house, Va took him to a store for a new pair last night. And when we left for church this morning, he left his shoes in the kitchen!

So Va and I didn’t stay for very long. We went home to free Penny from the house. I changed clothes and grabbed David’s shoes(and my camera), and headed back over there. Va stayed home to take a nap. I stayed for a while and had a nice time. The fly photo was actually taken with my camera rather than Va’s. Mine is better for macro shots like that.

They had cinquefoil, indian cucumber root, partridge berry, chickweed, clover, veronica, dewberry, wild sarsaparilla, whorled loosestrife, wood sorrel, and honeysuckle in bloom. They also had another specimen that I wasn’t positive about:

Bladder Campion?

Bladder Campion?


Now that I’ve gotten home and consulted the Internet, I’m feeling pretty confident that my guess was correct: Bladder Campion (Silene vulgaris). I have lots of white campion (S. latifolia), but not any bladder campion. I think the thing that threw me was the purplish stames.