Getting the Diploma

Getting the Diploma


We went to Jonathan’s graduation ceremony today. Jonathan had to be there at 3:00pm, so we bailed out of work early for this. I didn’t need to be at the rehearsal, so I figured I’d see if I could nab a nearby geocache. I knew there were a couple really close by, but I didn’t have the coordinates with me. Instead, I had the coords for one about a half mile away. The ceremony wasn’t until 4:00, so I had plenty of time. I set out.

The GPS was bouncing all over the place when I got to within a couple of yards. There was lots of thick underbrush too, and I was wearing dress clothes. So I turned around and headed back empty-handed. I’ll try again sometime, I’m sure.

Va, David, and Beth showed up shortly afterwards. I had saved us a row of seats near the front. It surprises me how many people will come to something like this and then sit as far back as they can. I wanted to be close enough so that my camera’s flash would reach its objective, and for it to be effective, it has to be within about 15 feet. And we were. Second row. The first row was for the speakers.

Seven graduates showed up out of a class of 12. Six of those seven were girls (or… women, I guess). For whatever reason, someone thought it would be a good idea for all the graduates to carry bouquets of flowers. Jonathan… was not comfortable with that.

The commencement address was given by Dr Lyonel Tracey, former NH Commissioner of Education. For a commencement address, it was pretty decent! He quoted Mark Twain – something along the lines of “Never let school get in the way of education.” Good advice.

Afterwards, they served cake, and Jonathan got to meet several of his teachers in real life – his classwork had all been done over the Internet, so he hadn’t ever met any of them face-to-face. I talked David into taking a photo of the graduate and his parents:

Va, Jonathan, and me

Va, Jonathan, and me

Then we went out for dinner at the Outback.