Tonight Beth had a piano recital. I can’t remember the name of the first song she played, but it was composed by F. J. Hayden.

Beth playing Hayden

Beth playing Hayden

Of course I heard her play this song about 900 times over the past two months, and at every tempo imaginable. I bought her a metronome (same day I bought David a guitar), and she would set it insanely slow and play along. Then she’d set it insanely fast and play it that way too. All that practice must have helped, because she nailed it tonight.

Her second piece was “Bless Be the Ties That Bind” which had received similar metronome treatment. That was the finale for the recital (there were about eight kids there total).

Rewinding the day a bit…

Jonathan and I worked an hour later tonight, then hit Taco Bell for dinner. He dropped me off at the church to wait for Va and Beth while he went on to his class. I took a few photos while I waited. The first thing I noticed was that the milkweed was in bloom:

Ladybug on a Milkweed Bloom

Ladybug on a Milkweed Bloom


On that same cluster of blossoms there was a menace biding her time:
Goldenrod Spider in Waiting

Goldenrod Spider in Waiting


The spider didn’t seem to happy that I showed up and started poking around with a lens. I think she thought I was going to blow her cover. But I didn’t. The beetle never seemed to notice. I moved on before any drama began. If you look closely at the ladybug shot, you can see this spider lurking at the lower right. Cool.

There was lots of crown vetch in bloom too. I liked this shot:

Crown Vetch (Securigera varia)

Crown Vetch (Securigera varia)