When I was walking through my woods the other day I noticed that the partridge berry (Mitchella repens) was in bloom. Today even more of it was.

Partridge berry (Mitchella repens)

Partridge berry (Mitchella repens)


I like this plant. It makes edible (though tasteless) berries. Note that the two flowers are joined at the base. Together they form a single berry which has two eyes (one from each flower). These berries remain on the plant all winter and well into spring. In fact, here’s a photo I took of one last month:
Mitchella repens berry

Mitchella repens berry


See the two eyes? Those are from the two flowers.

Another plant that has recently bloomed here is the white campion:

White Campion (Silene latifolia)

White Campion (Silene latifolia)


This one is blooming at the end of my driveway next to the road. I should have gone in the house and grabbed a tripod for this, but instead just held the camera in my hand. Thus, it’s a little bit out-of-focus.đŸ˜¦

Oh well.