There are five Pink Lady’s Slippers growing within about a 5 foot radius in my woods behind the house. I took several shots of them today, and I think this one is fairly representative of the best:

Pink Lady's Slipper (Cypripredium acuale)

Pink Lady's Slipper (Cypripredium acuale)

For the geocache I’m planning to hide, I have decided that it would be insane to try to cut a hole into the endgrain of a log section with a hole saw. Since the grain runs along the length of the log, it would be nearly impossible to pop out the section. Rather, I’m going to try to rig it up on my lathe and see what I can do that way. I will use my brace and bit to bore a hole into the part of the log that is still rooted to the ground though. That will prolly have a one inch diameter. Then I’ll turn a peg to fit into that hole on one end, and fit into the larger, lathe-bored hole on the other. We’ll see how it goes.

Jonathan comes home from Belgium tomorrow. He has been having a great time, and my heart is simply overflowing with joy for him. I can hardly wait to see him again and listen as he regales us with tales of his adventures. He has been keeping us up-to-date via email. I guess with Facebook too, but I have never been comfortable with FB, and have categorically refused to create an account there. With all the privacy changes they’ve been making over their short time in operation, I stand by that decision.

Tonight I downloaded abut a week’s worth of photos from my camera. I guess I’ve been getting lazy. Here’s a shot of the woodpecker I saw Saturday when I took my walk in the rain.

Common Flicker (Colaptes auratus)

Common Flicker (Colaptes auratus)


I’m guessing this is a Common Flicker (Colaptes aurates), as that’s the closest match I can find in my Field Guide (Peterson again). Maybe Dad can confirm (or correct!)

I had also forgotten that I had taken a few (bad) photos of a pair of killdeers (Charadrius vociferous) at the church one morning this week after I dropped Beth off at school. None of these turned out very well, and part of that was because I took the shot through a dirty windshield. I figured that if I got out of the car or rolled down the window, the killdeer would have freaked out and started pretending to be injured (to draw me away from the nest). But since I have seen these two characters in the churchyard more than once now, I’m guessing they must have a nest there. That means I might have an opportunity to get some better shots (but we’ll see).

Killdeer (Charadrius vociferous)

Killdeer (Charadrius vociferous)


Hopefully it won’t turn out like the hobblebush photos. I stopped twice to try and get some good shots of those, and neither time did it work out very well. And now the blooms are gone and I’ll have to wait until next year.