Today during lunch Dennis and I mosied over to Moe’s and bought some subs. We didn’t go directly back to the office, but instead wound our way around Storrs Street. I haven’t been that way in a while, and it’s a good place to find flowers (or as some people call them… weeds).

It was overcast and windy, so not ideal for photography. Plus I wasn’t by myself, and that always makes me feel rushed, even if the person I’m with isn’t trying to hurry me along. In spite of that, some of the photos accidentally came out pretty OK. Here’s a buttercup:

Buttercup (Ranunculus sp.)

Buttercup (Ranunculus sp.)

I also posted a few pics I had taken Saturday during our camporee to Bugguide so someone could id them for me. As usual, they came through. I had no idea what this one was:

Lace bug (Corythucha sp.)

Lace bug (Corythucha sp.)


To get this down to the species level, you have to know the host plant (or so they said at Bugguide). The only thing I saw this on was the tip of my finger though, and I didn’t know the host plant would be important later, so I didn’t follow it around to see what it would do after our “date.” Oh well! It’s still a pretty cool bug.