Yesterday I was tramping around our woods with Beth. She asked about the gaywings and I told her their name. Then I described the starflower to her and asked her if she could find one (I had seen several already). I told her it is a white flower with seven or eight pointed petals, about the size of a dime.

Starflower (Trientalis borealis)

Starflower (Trientalis borealis)


Armed with that description, she went off looking for one.

In short order she called out “I think I found one, but it only has three petals!” I went to investigate, and this is what she had found:

Painted Trillium (Trillium undulatum)

Painted Trillium (Trillium undulatum)

This is the first of these I have seen this year. We also found this:

Pink Lady's Slipper (Cypripedium acaule)

Pink Lady's Slipper (Cypripedium acaule)


A lot of people think this flower is endangered and they earnestly enjoin others (especially kids) to not pick them. Well, they aren’t endangered at all. They are confusing the Pink Lady’s Slipper (C. acaule) with the Showy Lady’s-slipper (C. reginae) which is endangered. That said, it’s still a bad idea to dig up C. acaule because it’s nearly impossible to transplant them.

I went back out tonight to see if I could get some better pictures of all these new flowers, but between the rain and the wind, I was defeated. The rain made the sky overcast and the woods were dark. The wind prevented the flowers from posing motionless for me. Between those two, I didn’t get any spectacular shots. I’ll keep trying though, and eventually I will have proper conditions.

Mom’s still in the hospital. They gave her some cough medicine with codeine, so she was finally able to get some sleep. She had a diagnosis now, and it doesn’t look too good. Neither Mom nor Dad could recall the name of the condition, but it has to do with the autonomic system failing to constrict her blood vessels when she stands up. Then her BP drops through the floor and she has a TIA. Not good. Worse, they don’t know how to treat it. I am not encouraged by news like that, and can only turn it over to the Lord.

When it rains it pours though. Va saw something on Facebook about her Dad and his wife (and her grandbaby) being rushed to the hospital. She called her Dad and he answered – in the ambulance. Their house had caught fire. They all got out, but he went back in for some things. I cannot recommend doing that, but I also know that when stuff like this happens, reason is the first thing to go. There but for the grace of God go I. Suffice it to say that he was OK enough to take a call in the ambulance. I don’t know more than that.