Tonight when I was walking about the yard taking pictures, I came across some dewberries. These look all the world like strawberries to me, only the fruits turn out looking exactly like blackberries. Indeed, I can’t tell dewberries from strawberries when they’re in flower. That’s something I’m going to have to work on.

Anyhow, I took this shot:

Crab spider disguised as a style

Look closer

Apparently, I had to get pretty close to the flower to get this shot. I was looking through my photos tonight when I stopped on this one and thought, “The styles on that dewberry look positively weird.” And then I noticed a little growth in the center. It didn’t take long to realize then that those weren’t styles at all – it’s a crab spider! I was right on top of this thing taking its picture, and I didn’t notice it.

This is why it’s a good idea to not delete photos straight off the camera.