The forecast was spot on. When we woke up this morning there was half an inch of snow on the yard.

Penny laughs at snow when there's a ball to herd

Penny laughs at snow when there's a ball to herd


Penny didn’t seem to care about the snow at all. There was a ball to fetch before we drove off to work/school. The rain-snow line was somewhere between here and Concord, because there was no snow on the ground at all there. It was snowing at the house when we left, and it was raining in Concord when we arrived, though the rain there did have sleet mixed in with it.

When we got home again, Penny was all excited (as she is every day when we get home) and was expecting me to take her outside. So I put down the laptop and opened the door. She went bounding out at top speed and hit the deck which still had a half inch of slush on it. She slammed neatly into the railing, recovered, and dashed into the yard to find a stick or a ball undeterred.

There was still snow in our yard here and there, but for the most part, it was gone. It was raining, but I had my hat and coat, so like Penny, I was undeterred as well. I figured I might take a crack at yesterday’s pussytoes (Antennaria spp). I set up the camera and managed to get this shot which isn’t too bad:

Pussytoes (Anetennaria spp)

Pussytoes (Anetennaria spp)

. If I can confirm my ID of it as A. parlinii, I’ll upload it to the Commons later tonight.

This evening I noticed that I was chilly. I went ot the thermostat and saw that though it was set for 68, the temperature in the house was only 61. I went down to the furnace and opened it up. There was a green LED flashing and a legend indicating that this pattern of flashes meant that the “lockout” was activated. Great! Luckily, it also said that I could press the red button to get it out of lockout. That fixed it, and the furnace is still running as I type this, trying to make up the seven degree deficit. I don’t know what a “lockout” is, but I suppose I’ll find out soon.