Today I had a nice surprise while walking through the woods behind the house:

Dwarf Ginseng (Panax trifolius)

Dwarf Ginseng (Panax trifolius)


This is Dwarf Ginseng (aka Panax trifolius). It hasn’t flowered yet, but you can see the unopened blossoms. When these do open, the tiny little flowers will be little spikey stars. I wasn’t expecting to see these this soon. Last year they bloomed on April 30. It might take that long again, or they might open a little sooner.

I also saw this guy flying by and then land. If I hadn’t seen him moving, I never would have noticed him at all:

A well camouflaged bug sitting on a twig

Camo Bug


I don’t know what this thing is yet, but i haven’t tried to find out either. Maybe it’s a leaf hopper of some sort, or maybe it’s even a moth. Dunno! His head is on the right though, and that’s his tail on the left. I know because he flew off again after I took this shot, and I doubt he was flying butt-first.