This morning Beth came in the house excited because there was a yellow bird on our rock. I figured it was prolly a goldfinch, and I was right! I went out and took a few shots. This one may be the best – it’s back was even more turned in the rest.

Goldfinch

Goldfinch


I set the camera up in the motion-detect mode again, but the goldfinch didn’t come back. I didn’t get any photos of the other birds that were any better than what I’ve already posted here, so… why post those? I’m still experimenting. I did have good light around noon. By then the light comes from the south and directly lights the feeding station. Of course birds prefer to eat in the morning and in the evening, but they do still eat at noon. Even so, none of the shots were post worthy. I’m just glad I’m not trying to learn this with film. I don’t think I could afford that!

Some neighbor kids came to the yard and Beth had a grand time with them. They had a blanket spread out on the yard, which they later moved – draped over the lawn chairs. They swung on the swings and really just had a great time all day. Penny alternated between bringing them sticks to throw for her and flopping down in the vernal pools in the woods. I hosed her off three times, as she just can’t go in the house like that. While the kids played, I sat out there preparing some equipment for my Pathfinder meeting this evening.

One of the competitions at the Spring Camporee is to light a fire with a five-kid team using a kid-powered drill. It’s very similar to the bow drill method, except that one kid stands on the fireboard, two hold the spindle to the fireboard with the socket, and two more pull on the rope which is wrapped around the spindle.

Five-kid fire team

Five-kid fire team


That’s David and another kid holding the socket. The fireboard is on the ground with a little index card under the pilot hole to catch the wood powder as the spindle grinds it off (and heats it up). We spent about 80 minutes fooling with that, and I had two sets of apparatus set up. We managed to light one fire, so now we know it can be done.

But it ain’t easy.