David attempted to dissect one of the geraniums tonight. The main thing that he learned is that it is not very easy to dissect a geranium. So we went to Tilton to get him something else. I had intended to go to Shaws (grocery store), but accidentally drove to Walmart instead. I didn’t realize I had done that until we walked into the store. I figured we should just turn around and not waste any time there, but David thought otherwise. I think that’s because he saw a display of tulips in the aisle.

So we brought a pot of them home. I guess I’ll plant the geraniums, tulips, and hyacinths somewhere in the yard.

He has another project in that class where he needs to collect 8 seeds. Two from plants with fleshy fruits, two from pods, two with hard shells (i.e., nuts), and two that stick to animal fur.

That’s a pretty tall order for spring time. He’s kinda lucky to have a wild flower hobbyist as a dad, so we were able to collect six of his eight, and I know where to find the other two in Concord.

For the fleshy fruits, he had already found some wintergreen berries. He prolly didn’t know that we also have partridge berries in the woods, because they sure look similar. Found some, and he picked it. I also found some American hog peanut pods, so that covers one of the seeds-in-pods. For the other, we’re going with black locust (in Concord). For the stick-to-fur, he got a wild carrot. We still have a few standing from last year, and the tiny little seeds are very spikey. I looked for some beggar-ticks, but couldn’t find any. They pretty much disappear over the winter. We’ll round out that category with a Canadian thistle that we’ll collect in Concord tomorrow. I guess I’d better bring my raincoat though, because we’re supposed to get 2-4 inches of rain.

For the hardshells, he had already found an acorn from a white oak. I suggested we find one from a red oak too. He wasn’t sure that would count, but hey – they are two distinct species, so I say it surely does count. Also, I can tell the difference between them. Those are the only two species of oak (aka Quercus) on my property – white oak has long acorns and red oak has little short ones.

So by tomorrow, he should have all the seeds he needs for his next bio project.