For the past several days, I’ve been working on my argyle sock project. The first part was easy, because it’s the same procedure as the previous pair of socks I knitted. Just plain 2×2 ribbing (which I still count starting at zero, and in hexadecimal).

But then I got the the intarsia part. That’s where I have to alternate between two colors. For the life of me, I cannot understand the instructions I’m reading in the pattern. So I have decided to ditch the pattern and come up with my own method. Which is completely insane, I know.

I am a novice. I should just do it the way the experts say I should. But I can’t understand what they’re saying. I could ask around I guess, but why not inflict disaster upon myself instead? After all, these socks are only $38 so far. Why not add medical bills to that total?

