Today is Pi Day. March 14. 3/14. 3.14.

So to celebrate, I dug the blackberries out of the freezer. These are the wild ones I picked on my place late last summer or early fall (or both). The recipe called for 5 cups of berries, 3/4 cup of sugar, a couple tablespoons of corn starch and an eighth teaspoon of salt.

I was worried about seeds though, so I experimented. I tried straining the berries through my chinois, but that met with utter and incontrovertible failure. After grinding on two cups of berries for ten minutes, I managed to squeeze maybe six droplets of blackberries into the bowl underneath. Not what I would call very effective!

So instead, I just dumped those two crushed cups (still in the top of the chinois) plus three more cups into a large bowl, added the sugar (et al), and mixed them thoroughly. I dumped that into a pre-made crust. I didn’t have the time or patience to make a top-crust, so this pi went topless.

Popped it into the oven for an hour, and then called it done. I meant to take it to the Pathfinder meeting, but we had to leave as soon as it came out of the oven and I could not think of an effective way to transport a hot pie. So I left it on the stovetop until I got home.

Then I had a slice with a scoop if ice cream. I’d say it was a successful pie!