We had our Pinewood Derby Clinic tonight. It started off on the rocky side. Ken and I had swapped vehicles yesterday so I could fetch the fruit from Portland. His wife was to bring it to the Pinewood clinic, but she was not able to get there until an hour after it had started. That normally wouldn’t be a problem, except that I had 25 Pinewood Derby kits in the trunk. I had three left over from last year on the closet (and seven kids to dived them among). We did what we could.

Once the cars arrived things got hopping. Warran came out for the event and had his Dremel tool singing. When everything wound down, I asked him if he would consider coming back as a full-time staff. He didn’t commit, but it sounded pretty good to me. He won’t be able to camp with us, but I really need an extra counselor. Camping I can handle. If he comes back, maybe his son will too, and I know David misses him terribly.

This year I will be making a car too. It’s coming along pretty well, and is shaped (or is destined to be shaped) like a bench plane. Dunno where that idea came from, but there it is. I’ll take a picture when it’s done.

