Today after work I went with the co-workers in my department to have an evening of pool and darts. I suck at pool, but I did better at darts. We left at about 7:30 I guess.

When I got home, Beth was already in bed, but not asleep. I went up and read what I think is one of the best chapters in the Lord of the Rings trilogy, The White Rider. This is the chapter where we find that Gandalf isn’t quite dead.

When I read LotR for the first time when I was in high school, two of my brothers were reading it at the same time, but they were ahead of me. They were not so good about spoilers. They let me know that Gandalf came back even before I got to the part where he died in Moria, robbing me of both surprises. Thanks bros!

So to pay them back, here I am spilling spoilers. Sorry all you people who haven’t read LotR yet!

Beth was completely surprised when we read about Gandalf’s fall in Moria, and she was equally surprised (and delighted) tonight when he returned to the story.

