Not much happened today. I did get a nibble on the snowblower ad I posted on Craigslist., which I greatly enjoyed writing. We’ll see if the nibble turns into a catch or not.

And now, it’s time for me to peg the geek meter.

I have been thinking about Elvish technology from the Lord of the Rings. I prefer to think of it as technology rather than as magic (Galadriel seemed amused that the hobbits thought of it as magic). Maybe that’s where Arthur C. Clarke got his inspiration when he quipped that “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” I also like the corollary to that, not of Clarke’s making: “Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.” Ha ha.

Anyhow, in the Lord of the Rings, Frodo has Bilbo’s old sword, Sting. It glows blue when orcs are around. It occurred to me the other day that it would be pretty simple to make a sword that glowed blue when people were around. It’s not 100% fool proof, but all it would need to do is detect the presence (and quantity) of cell phones. Signal strength of the phone relative to the strength of the signal from the cell tower would also tell you how close the “person” was, and you could also distinguish unique phones from one another. All of which would roll into the algorithm for deciding how brightly the sword should glow.

About the only thing I lack the skill to do is to make the actual sword. Oh – and make it glow blue. But knowing when to glow, and how brightly to glow is fairly straight-forward. The rest, we still have to leave to magic.

Those orcs shoulda turned off their cell phones!

