Today I slept a little later than normal, but Va called up from the kitchen announcing that breakfast was ready. She makes pancakes (from scratch) every Sunday morning, and even though I would love to stay in bed, this is a breakfast not to be missed!

I took Penny out for a bit of exercise after breakfast, and then it was time to take Beth to a birthday party at the Laconia Ice Arena. She very much enjoyed the skating, and I very much enjoyed not skating. We left there a little before 2:00pm and stopped at the old Northfield/Tilton train depot. There’s a “virtual” geocache there, meaning that there is no physical cache, but rather, you have to take a picture of yourself there and include it when you log your visit. Here’s our picture:

Beth and I at the Northfield/Tilton Depot

Beth and I at the Northfield/Tilton Depot


As you can see from the photo, there are several restored antique cabooses there. Actually, this photo only scratches the surface. There are probably two dozen cabooses, engines, and cars at this depot. Every now and again, they will run the trains, but not in winter. In winter the rails are set aside as a snowmobile trail.

We got home, and I thought it might be a good idea to try and do something about our deck. It is stained (painted) white. The can said it was stain, but it sure looked like paint to me. Anyhow, it really needs to be repainted, but that’s not the sort of thing that can be done in November in NH. It was also covered with algae, and I could do something about that. I got out an old broom, a mop bucket, and some detergent and went to work, scrubbing the deck with the broom. The broom was not as effective as I had hoped it would be, so I eventually switched to a scrub brush. The deck is 8×12, so it didn’t take that long to clean it, and it looks 500% better now. But it still needs a new paint job.

I also hung up the tarp I used for raking leaves last week. It will never dry out lying on the ground. A bit of rope and two trees knocked that out. Now I need to wait for it to dry off and then I can fold it up and put it away.

I had a bit of supper then, and then headed up to the attic. I installed another four rolls of R13 insulation. It’s going to take me a while to finish it at this pace, but I’m not in a tremendous hurry anyhow. I do have the area above the stairs pretty well covered now, and that is always the first place where the snow melts off the roof. I don’t think it will do that anymore there, but I also don’t think the attic is any more weatherized than it was before I started. Maybe I’m wrong on that count, I dunno. If I keep it up, it will eventually be weatherized, and I should have no more problems with ice dams. At least, that’s the hope.

