I was hoping the parts for the washing machine would show up today, but they did not. Bummer. If they had, I would have installed them and started some laundry. Instead, Va and I went to Tilton, ate some supper, and then went to Lowes and bought a new dish washer.

We let the kids fend for themselves. It’s nice to get away from them every now and then, even if it’s just to buy a major appliance.

We ended up getting a GE for $311 with free delivery, installation, and haul-away of the old one. I’m sure that repairing the old one would have cost at least half that, so I’m pretty happy about this.

It will be here on Sunday, barrin’ accidents. I’m not positive that they really will install it though. The guy we were talking to thought they would, but this was not his department (that guy was talking to someone else). It’s not that hard to install a dishwasher though, so if I hafta do it myself, I still think I got a good deal. Especially if it doesn’t burn the house down.

I also looked at snow blowers while we were there. I’ve been monitoring Craigslist waiting for the right one to come up, and have inquired too late about more than one. Va thought maybe getting another used one would be a bad idea. I thought that if I told her what they cost new she might change her tune, but that was not the case. I didn’t buy one tonight, but I kinda, sorta picked one out ($750). I’d like to check Home Depot before I pull that trigger though. I think they carry Ariens which I have heard good things about.

I will not be home when the dish washer arrives, but Va will. She was OK with that, so I was too. I’ll be running a Pathfinder meeting then. Hopefully the washing machine parts will come tomorrow and we can get a load or two of laundry done. I’m wearing my last clean pair of wool socks today. Tomorrow I resort to summer-grade.

