Today Va wanted to mop the floor, and that means Penny has to be out of the house for a couple of hours. So Beth and I took her down to Sandogardy Pond. I had been wanting to get down there for a while, especially since the leaves have turned here. I took my camera and my tripod.

Beth making a river in the sand.  Nice backdrop

Beth making a river in the sand. Nice backdrop


Beth played in the sand a bit. It was too cold to go in (and I guess it has been for about a month now), so she was content to play at the water’s edge. I took almost a hundred pictures while we were down there. The biggest problem I had was that in order to keep the sky from blowing out (max white), I had to back off the exposure time, and that made the trees a lot less vibrant. Oh well. It was fun taking the shots anyhow.

We went up the the playground, and I got this shot.

Fence in silhouette

Fence in silhouette


I like the way this one turned out with the foreground in the shadows and the background fully lit. I think they sky blew out on this one too though. Oh well. Beth was on the swings when she saw some “ducks” that turned out to be geese. We went down to the beach again and zoomed in on them. This is the best one of those:
Canada Geese on Sandogardy

Canada Geese on Sandogardy

We spent about an hour there I guess and then headed back to the house. The floor was still a bit too wet to bring the dog in, so I puttered around the yard for a bit. The first thing I did was rinse off Penny’s feet. Then I inspected the tents which are still pitched out there. And still wet. Today was the first rainless day since we got back from our campout last weekend. I build a small platform with PVC pipes and raised the two little tents up on it so that they could get dry on the underside. It’s supposed to rain again Tuesday, so I sure hope these are dry when I get home from work tomorrow. I also turned one of the big tents over on its side to expose its bottom to the air as well. Hopefully I can take them all down tomorrow, but I guess we’ll see.

